OD Command in Windows with Python

I have seen OD command for last two years but had never bothered to look it up. It always remained under the surface.

Life went on well without it, until now.

During a recent debugging crisis, had to resort to this command for an efficient way to check binary results. All the while had to go to Linux and copy the files. This is when I knew I have to see what this OD is?

OD is octal dump. Simple functionality, don’t know if there is a windows equivalent. So before searching for a windows equivalent, I knew I can replicate this in python and here’s my first attempt.

Works for me and suits my requirement. Not an entire mimic of actual OD command but if you are looking for long and double precision values, this does the job.

I have kept the command line arguments similar to the actual OD command. Here’s a simple demo.

As always, the code is available from my github repo here. Hope to add more functionality as and when I get more time. Please free to fork and play around.

Special thanks to Andy for introducing the command and helping me make sense of the important arguments.

Leave a Reply

