Flying in a 500 Sitter Airbus 380 With Only 2 Passengers!

Coursera

Look at this pie chart. It tells a story. Story about MOOC!

A massive open online course (MOOC) is an online course aiming at large-scale interactive participation and open access via the web.

I recently completed my 2nd online 7+ week long course at coursera.org

The pie chart above is about the participation data for the course, conducted by Duke University, that I participated. 1500000 registered for this course, 60000 went ahead and saw all the lectures and only about 6000 completed it. That is just 0.4 % people who registered, completed it. Less than half of 1%

To imagine the scale. Its like flying in a 500 sitter Airbus 380 with only 2 passengers!!

I am happy that the lessons I learnt from my first failed attempt at this format of study stood me in good stead and I was among that 0.4% who completed the course with all assignments and quizzes.

😉 But I am still stunned by this statistics.

One thought on “Flying in a 500 Sitter Airbus 380 With Only 2 Passengers!

  1. Pingback: Four tips to finish the online course you signed up! | SukhbinderSingh.com

Leave a Reply

