An Excel App for Your Brain!

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 10.24.23 PM
While browsing through google play, this android app got my attention. Having discarded my android phone, I asked my friend N to download the app on his mobile.

Liked the game and then we two went for a walk to stretch our legs and give our eyes break from the computer screen.

It is in this walk that we challenged each other if we can create this simple game in our programming language of choice.

We figured by an hour we can complete the game. I wanted to do it in java but didn’t have the sdk installed on my system, so decided to use my old pal vba. Launched excel and began with my phone timer set to shout in an hour.

By stretching 5 mins more to an hour, I had the basic functionality ready in excel.

Then it took, another one hour to get this game little more polished. Though far from complete.

So here’s the result. Click to download the excel file and play

What I learnt from the exercise?
The application.ontime function in excel 2007 is broken. Was not able to stop it. So had to introduce a new Boolean variable to stop the play.

Working with shapes was a new thing for me. I have always used cells or a user form for working in excel VBA, but for this I wanted to see how to use shapes.

Not bad for a total of 2+ hours of effort and it refreshed my dormant vba skills!!

Lot can be improved in the app, but hey I have real work to do. If you want, you are free to refine the game further. or look at the code here.

Leave a Reply

